Winners give credit to people, works; losers accept verdict

Nishikant Khajuria
JAMMU/Srinagar, May 23: While the winners of 2019 Lok Sabha polls in Jammu and Kashmir have termed their triumph as victory of their people and vote for positive development , the prominent losers have accepted the verdict with humility vowing to continue serving masses notwithstanding their defeat in the battle of ballots.
National Conference president Dr Farooq Abdullah, who has been declared winner from Srinagar Parliamentary seat, hoped that the new Government at the Centre would do justice with the State and engage in a dialogue with Pakistan to resolve the Kashmir issue.
“This Parliament will not be easy. There are several important issues with respect to J-K because we have to fight them on their intention to do away with the Article 370 and 35A. Another issue is that they want to divide the Muslims and Hindus in the country; we have to fight that as well,” he said while talking to the reporters at the NC headquarters in Srinagar.
The NC president said that they have to protect the Constitution of India. “This country belongs to all and we have to keep this country strongly on that secular path which our Constitution enshrines. We have to protect the Constitution, drafted by (B R) Ambedkar, and take the country forward,” he added.

Click here to Watch Video

Abdullah said for peace to be established in Jammu and Kashmir, India and Pakistan will have to come to the dialogue table and resolve this issue. Stressing that use of pellet guns has to be stopped, Abdullah said that he would take care of this issue. “I will be in constant touch and will be keeping everything in front of you”, he added.
He further said that priority is to bring people out of turbulent times. “Our first priority will be to take out the State from the turbulent time, address the issues that people are facing and if we are to bring peace in the State, India and Pakistan have to come to the table of dialogue and in one way or the other, both the countries will have to resolve this issue”, he said.
Former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, who accompanied Dr Farooq Abdullah in the press conference, said that they tried to find an alternative to BJP and NDA but it was not accepted by the nation. “The reality is that the places where we were confident of opposition’s success, there instead of witnessing an increase in seats, we have witnessed a decrease. Amid this, we have played our role. We put up candidates on three Parliamentary seats and won all the three seats”, he said adding that they would have to analyze the factors that led to the defeat of the opposition.
Dr Jitendra Singh, Union Minister of State in PMO and BJP candidate from Udhampur-Kathua-Doda Parliamentary constituency, who defeated his nearest rival Vikramaditya Singh from the Congress party with a record margin, said that it was a positive vote for development and leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
“Common masses have acknowledged the developmental works initiated by our Government under the leadership of PM Modi and outcome of the result is a reward for the same,” he said while talking to the Excelsior.
Terming his historic triumph as victory of people of the region, Dr Jitendra Singh further said that the voters have proved wiser despite the negative propaganda by oppositions and conclusions drawn by a section of media refusing to acknowledge the developmental works. “Common voters, 70 percent of whom are youth, voted for development and strong leadership of PM Modi, which they experienced in the last five years,” he added.
Former Chief Minister and PDP president Mehbooba Mufti, who lost election from Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, congratulated PM Modi for his historic win, stating that this was a time for Congress to get an Amit Shah.
“Congratulations to Narendra Modi ji for a historic mandate. Today surely belongs to BJP and its allies. Time for Congress to get an Amit Shah,” Mehbooba said in a tweet.
“I’ve been fortunate to get the love & affection of my people. They have every right to express their anger for my failings. Accept their verdict with humility. Congratulations to winning candidates from NC. I’m grateful to my party workers and colleagues”, she said in her message.
Jugal Kishore Sharma of BJP, who was declared elected from Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary constituency for the second consecutive terms with greater margin this time, said that people have reposed their faith in leadership of PM Narendra Modi and his decisive policies for development, Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas and security of the nation by voting NDA to power again.
“In Jammu and Kashmir, Prime Minister Narendra Modi sanctioned a number of new developmental projects and won hearts and minds of the people besides making it clear that no compromise would be made with security and integrity of the country,” he said and added that these policies of the NDA Government led BJP to once again win three Lok Sabha seats in the State.
Thanking voters of the Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary constituency for re-electing him to the Lok Sabha, Jugal Kishore said that he would leave no stone unturned to come upto the expectation of the people.
Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, Chief Executive Councillor of LAHDC Leh and BJP candidate for Ladakh Lok Sabha seat, who has been declared elected in a multi-cornered contest, also credited his victory to leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his policies.
“This is also the victory of people of Ladakh as well as State unit of BJP and I will try my best to come upto the expectations of all of them,” he said and conveyed his sincere gratitude to the party leadership, more particularly the Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandoo and Defence Minister Nirmala Sitaraman, who campaigned for him during the elections.
Former Minister and Congress candidates Raman Bhalla, who lost the battle of ballots to Jugal Kishore, lamented that the polarization and emotional issues completely dominated the developmental concerns and performance of the contestants in the elections.
“However, whatever may be the reasons, I accept verdict of the people and will continue to serve the masses by highlighting the public issues to the best of my capacity,” he said while thanking people who voted him in the election.