Voting today in Udhampur-Doda seat

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Apr 18: In view of the ongoing ceasefire between India and Pakistan and the heavy deployment of paramilitary forces, the voting process is expected to be peaceful in 2,637 polling stations in the Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency.
The seat will go to polls on Friday in the first phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections.
“Out of the 2,637 polling stations (in Udhampur), 31 are located along the International Border in Kathua district. Necessary arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful polling,” the officials said.
“All arrangements are in place for free, fair and peaceful voting tomorrow (Friday). The security measures are foolproof with adequate deployment of police and CAPF personnel,” they said.

Follow the Daily Excelsior channel on WhatsApp

“The polling staff along with election logistics and material has either reached their destinations or are on their way to reach the polling stations by this evening,” they added.
The polling will start at its scheduled time at 7 am tomorrow and conclude at 6 pm, besides a mock exercise will be held before the actual start of the polling in the presence of agents of the contesting political parties.
Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh is eyeing a third consecutive term in the constituency after winning the seat for BJP in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, facing a challenge from Congress candidate Choudhary Lal Singh, who had also won the seat twice in 2004 and 2009.
Democratic Progressive Azad Party’s (DPAP) candidate G M Saroori, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Amit Kumar and eight Independents will also be contesting in the elections from the Udhampur constituency.