VC SKUAST signs MoUs with AICRP-PHET Ludhiana

SKUAST VC displaying copies of MoU signed with ICAR AICRP-PHET Ludhiana.
SKUAST VC displaying copies of MoU signed with ICAR AICRP-PHET Ludhiana.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 6: Prof J P Sharma, Vice Chancellor of SKUAST-Jammu and SKUAST-Kashmir, today signed Memorandums of Understanding (MoUs) with ICAR AICRP-PHET, Ludhiana.
The MoUs were signed and exchanged between Prof J P Sharma, Vice Chancellor SKUAST Jammu and SKUAST-Kashmir and Dr S K Tyagi, Project Coordinator ICAR AICRP-PHET, Ludhiana at Chatha Campus, Jammu, in presence of Dr Pardeep Wali, Associate Director Research and Dr Mahital Jamwal, Deputy Director Research of SKUAST-Jammu.
The ICAR-Central Institute of Post-Harvest Engineering and Technology (CIPHET) was established on 3rd October 1989 at the PAU Campus, Ludhiana, Punjab, India as a nodal institute to undertake lead researches in the area of the Post-Harvest Engineering and Technology appropriate to agricultural production catchment and agro-industries and is also conducting R&D activities on fruits and vegetables, and commercial horticultural crops.
ICAR-CIPHET is headquartered for two All India Coordinated Research Projects (AICRPs) viz AICRP on Post-Harvest Engineering and Technology (PHET) at 31 centres and AICRP on Plasticulture Engineering & Technology (PET) at 14 centres.
Through these MoUs, AICRP-PHET (ICAR-CIPHET) and both the Farm Universities SKUAST-J and SKUAST-K will coordinate in the areas of mutual interest, especially in demonstration and establishment of pilot plants of primary, secondary and tertiary processing technologies including extraction, preservation, storage and value addition of agricultural commodities for farmers’ benefits, entrepreneurship development and business management through commercialization. Dissemination of successful technologies through training and demonstration would also be undertaken with both long term and short term goals, keeping in view the interests of farmers, startups and entrepreneurs of Jammu and Kashmir regions.