United School Teachers Association resents transfer proposals

Excelsior Correspondent

KATHUA, July 4: J&K United School Teachers Association has expressed reservations over some proposed transfers of teachers.
In this connection a meeting of the Association was held, here today under the presidium of Rajiv Kumar, Hari Singh and Roop Chand, Provincial President, Gen Sec and District President respectively to discuss present education scenario and problems of the teaching community.
The meeting observed that some proposals of those teachers who did not apply online via google forms for transfer, are not suitable and they were placed in faraway places in the proposals whereas some over stayed teachers who are working in far flung areas for last many years, were not considered for transfer even though they had filled their google form indicating five places for choice posting.
USTA strongly appealed the authorities at the helm of affairs to review only such cases by constituting a committee of local officers as there is wide scope to redress the grievances of such teachers keeping in view the transfer policy.
The meeting further appealed the authorities to transfer all over stayed Masters who are working in far flung areas for last many years, also initiate transfer policy for Grade II and Grade III teachers especially for married women who are facing many problems while performing their academic duties.
Other demands discussed in the meeting included; adjustment of all left out Lecturers promoted in various subjects, time bound promotion, earned leave benefit in favour of Teachers, Masters, Lecturers who performed their duties in vacation under COVID-19 pandemic, regularization of all incharge Lecturers, Headmasters and other officers, filling up vacant posts in Education Department via DPC, Senior Teacher grade in favour of trained undergraduate teachers, implement old pension scheme and release of pending DA.
The meeting was attended by Zulfkar Ali, Kamlesh Kumar, Natu Chand, D P Angral, Rakesh Kumar, Sam Lal, Ashok Kumar, Parshant Khajuria, Satish Singh, Bali Muhommed and Thudu Singh.