Traffic police to launch drive against misuse of red beacon lights

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 29: The Traffic Police Jammu is going to launch a massive drive to check unauthorized use and misuse of red beacon lights from October 1, 2012, throughout Jammu zone.
“Strict action will be initiated  against the defaulters misusing the red beacon lights under Motor Vehicle Act as law is supreme and should be honoured by every citizen in all its forms”, said DIG Traffic Range Jammu, Shakeel Ahmed Beig, during a traffic awareness camp organised today at Warehouse here.
The DIG said that Government has issued an order under which only the specified dignitaries and officers have been authorized to use beacon lights on the top of their vehicles and anybody violating the directions will be punished under law. One day grace period has been given to the violators for the removal of red beacon lights and drive will start with effect from October 1 2012. He said that officers have been directed to take stern action against such violators during joint mobile checking.
The dignitaries and officers have been authorized to use red beacon lights on the top of their vehicles are Governor, Chief Minister, Deputy Chief Minister, Speaker, Legislative Assembly, Chairman Legislative Council, Chief Justice of High Court, Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State, Leader of Opposition in the House, Judge of High Court, Dy Speaker Legislative Assembly, Dy Chairman Legislative Council, Mayor of Jammu/Srinagar within their respective Municipal limits, Chairmen of LAHDC, Kargil/ Leh, Member of Parliament, Member of State Legislature, Chief Secretary, Advocate General, Chairman Public Service Commission, Financial Commissioner, Director General of Police and Equivalent ranks in Police, Principal Secretaries, All additional DGPs, District Magistrate, District SPs, Pilot/Control Room/fire Brigade vehicles, Police Patrol/ambulances/Escort Vehicles (blue lasher light), vehicles on Airport (Amber flasher), Principal/District and Session Judges within their respective jurisdictions, Vice Chairman State Advisory Borads.
Chairman J&K Accountability Commissioner, Chairman State Information Commissioner, Chairman State Commissioner for Backward Classes, Chairman State Commission for Women, Chairman State Human Right Commission, Chairman State Finance Commission, Chairman State Consumer Protection Commission, Chairman State Electricity Regulatory Commissioner, Chairman State Vigilance Commission and Principal Accountant General J&K.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here