TDF submits memorandum to Delimitation Commission

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 21: The public of Sub-Division Thathri District Doda have submitted a fresh memorandum to the Chairperson Delimitation Commission for J&K, (Retd) Justice Ranjana Parkash Dessai for creation of separate Thathri Assembly Constituency in District Doda, without increasing the number of constituencies.
The members of the Front RR Manhas, Chairman, KK Rao, President, Om Raj Bhall, General Secretary, Advocate Kanwarjeet Singh Thakur, Vice-President and Captain (Retd) Layaqat Ali Sheikh, Secretary said that Thathri Sub-Division comprises of five Tehsils of its own and almost 90 per cent of its areas are hilly, snow-bound and backward. They appealed to attach the two closely adjacent Tehsils Mahalla and Dharbshalla with the five Tehsils of Sub-Division Thathri and make one Constituency of these seven Tehsils and it will be a perfectly viable unit (constituency) by all standards.
They further said that the presently drafted proposal has attached half of the Sub-Division with Doda west and Doda constituencies and the other half with Bhadarwah Constituency. This bifurcation is quite irrational, arbitrary and unjust, the members said.
They appealed to the present Commission, also to Lt Governor, J&K UT and concerned MP Dr Jitendra Singh to kindly put an end to the joke played by previous Commissions and let it respect the identity of Sub-Division Thathri and not attach it partly with Doda West and Doda and partly with Bhadarwah Constituency.
They appealed to the Chairperson Delimitation Commission to kindly recognize and respect the ignored identity of Sub-Division Thathri by including proposed Doda constituency in it and renaming it Thathri Assembly Constituency.