Tassaduq Mufti chairs LA Select Committee meeting

Committee to visit Shri Mata Sukarala Devi Ji, Shri Mata BalaSundari Shrines

JAMMU: A meeting of the Select Committee of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly was held under the Chairmanship of Minister for Tourism, Tassaduq Hussain Mufti here today.

Threadbare discussion was held on various provisions of “The Jammu and Kashmir Shri Mata Sukarala Devi Ji Shrine and Shri Mata BalaSundari Shrine (Amendment) Bill, 2018 (L.A Bill No. 16 of 2018)”.

Legislators, Nawang Rigzin Jora, Devinder Singh Rana, Satpaul Sharma, Pawan Kumar Gupta, Jeevan Lal, Rajeev Jasrotia, Ravinder Raina and Dr Davinder Kumar Manyal attended the meeting and gave their valuable suggestions regarding better management and administration for the shrines.

The Committee said the objective of the Bill is better and proper management of the shrines and it has been found that the existing Board has not achieved the objectives to the satisfaction of the local people as well as the pilgrims who visit the two shrines.

The Committee also observed that the Board has not been able to do justice with the mandate given to it and proper management of the two shrines was not achieved.

It was also decided in the meeting that the Committee will soon conduct a visit of Shri Mata Sukarala Devi Ji Shrine and Shri Mata BalaSundari Shrine to take stock of facilities being provided to the local people and pilgrims in these two shrines.

Secretary Law, Abdul Majid, Secretary Tourism, Sarmad Hafeez, Additional Secretary Tourism, Gulzar Ahmed, besides Special Secretary, Assembly, R L Sharma, Additional Secretary, Assembly, Naseem Jan and other senior officers of concerned department and Assembly Secretariat were also present in the meeting.