Sushma chairs interactive session with northeast CMs on Act East Policy

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj on Friday chaired an Interactive Session on the Act East Policy with the Chief Ministers of northeastern states here.
Among others Chief Ministers Sarbanand Sonowal (Assam), Neiphiu Rio (Nagaland), N Biren Singh (Manipur), Biplab Deb (Tripura) and Conrad Sangma (Meghalaya) attended the meeting. “Deepening our engagement with ASEAN countries through constructive consultation! EAM @SushmaSwaraj chairing an interactive session on ‘Act East Policy’ with Chief Ministers of North Eastern States. On agenda – integration of views of North East into our Act East Policy,” MEA spokesman Raveesh Kumar tweeted.
The interactive session has been organised as part of Modi Government’s efforts to keep  northeastern part of the country at the “heart” of India’s Act East Policy. “Following the successful ASEAN India Commemorative Summit that was hosted by the Prime Minister on January 25, 2018, this meeting will further underscore Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision of keeping the Northeast at the heart of India’s “Act East Policy” and the ongoing engagement with ASEAN,” an MEA statement said here. Among others, Dr Rajiv Kumar, Vice Chairman of Niti Aayog, Minister of State for External Affairs Gen (retd) V K Singh, Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale and other senior officials in the Foreign Ministry including Secretary (East) Preeti Saran as well as Secretaries from the Ministry of DoNER, Tourism and North Eastern Council are also participating in the deliberations.  (PTI)