South Africa, Germany, Belgium elected non-permanent UNSC members

UNITED NATIONS: The UN General Assembly today elected South Africa, Indonesia, Dominican Republic, Germany and Belgium as non-permanent members of the powerful Security Council for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2019.

Voting was held today in the 193-member General Assembly to fill the seats that will be vacated by Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden this year.

The five non-permanent members were elected according to the following pattern: two seats for the Group of African states and the Group of Asia-Pacific states, one for the Group of Latin American and Caribbean states, and two seats for Western European and other states. (AGENCIES)