SKUAST- J students meet Speaker, demand renaming of university

SKUAST-J delegation submitting a memorandum to Dr Nirmal Singh.
SKUAST-J delegation submitting a memorandum to Dr Nirmal Singh.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 18: SKUAST- Jammu students, under the leadership of President SKUAST Teachers Association, Dr Vikas Sharma, submitted a memorandum to Dr Nirmal Singh, Speaker, J&K Legislative Assembly, seeking the change in the nomenclature of SKUAST- J to Jammu Agricultural University.
Divyansh Verma, student representative and member Joint Action Committee of SKUAST-Jammu, informed the Speaker that Jammu province including 10 districts and have vast area whose length / breadth ranges from 200 to 400 kms from Lakhanpur to Bani, Doda / Bhaderwah and Rajouri / Poonch, Jammu division is the most suitable place for agricultural business as this region contains all the three agroclimatic zones namely – subtropical, intermediate and temperate (which are not available in any other area of the country). The farmers of these areas are getting the benefit of latest advances in agricultural technologies due to the only farm University of Jammu division, thus, resulting in higher agricultural production, but there is a strong resentment among the farming community, civil society and intellectuals of Jammu region regarding the nomenclature of this agricultural varsity, he added.
The delegation opined that their identity is suppressed by prefixing the name Sher-e-Kashmir before Agricultural University of Jammu and they have high aspirations that they should be identified by the name that itself represents all the cultures and values prevailing in their Jammu region and their identity may be recognized at national and international level.
The delegation stressed that rechristening of SKUAST-J as Jammu Agricultural University is very essential for its separate identity at State / National level and it will be a good confidence measure for the people of Jammu, who have struggled a lot for this Agricultural University. They further informed that common name of two varsities (SKUAST-J and SKUAST-K) in the same State is creating a lot of controversies and confusions among the masses.
The deputation comprised of Vishaw Vikas, Gagan Lakhanpal, Upmanyu Sharma, Tarvinder Singh, Sanjeev Sangral, Suneel Kumar and others.