Several PDP leaders boycott Hamid’s felicitation function

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Jan 11: Several senior PDP leaders including former Member Rajya Sabha, Tarilok Singh Bajwa, former Legislator Ved Mahajan, Hussain Ali Wafa, Daman Bhasin, Rafiq Ahmed Malik, two district presidents and some others in the party today boycotted the felicitation function of newly inducted vice-president of the PDP from Jammu region.
Party sources said that PDP unit Jammu division had organized a function to honour the newly appointed, PDP vice president and in-charge Jammu region, Hamid Choudhary at party office Gandhinagar at 12 noon. Ch Hamid, a local Gujjar leader was appointed as new vice president of the party and in-charge Jammu region by the party president Mehbooba Mufti on Thursday.
A very few senior party leaders including Falail Singh, Faqir Chand Bhagat, Master Tassaduq Hussain, Murtaza Khan etc attended the function while many seniors and party loyalists since foundation of the party by Late Mufti Mohammed Sayeed including- Ved Mahajan, TS Bajwa, Daman Bhasin, besides Hussain Ali Wafa, Rafiq Malik- chairman Labour Cell of the party, Rashid Malik, Deepak Honda, party district president from Samba Dr Harmesh Slathia, Sukhdev Sharma from district Udhampur boycotted the function, showing their resentment that they were not taken into confidence and most juniors were being given preference, ignoring minority communities and senior and loyalists since the era of Late Mufti Mohd Sayeed by the party high command.
Even MLC, Surinder Choudhary and former minister, Ch Zulfkar Ali were also found missing from the function. The sources said that strong resentment was brewing among the senior party functionaries in Jammu region and a separate meeting was also convened by these leaders this afternoon, who may take some surprising decision in near future, the sources added.