SC Collegium recommends 16 lawyers as HC judges

NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court Collegium on Monday cleared the names of 16 lawyers for appointment as judges of Kerala, Karnataka and Bombay High Courts.

The Apex Court collegium comprising Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justices S A Bobde and N V Ramana recommended the names of the advocates to the Central Government after assessing their merit and suitability.

For the Kerala High Court, the Collegium has forwarded the names of Conrad Stansilaus Dias, Mohammed Nias C P and Paul K K.

For Karnataka High Court, the names of Savanur Vishwajith Shetty, Singapuram Raghavachar Krishna Kumar, Maralur Indrakumar Arun, Mohammed Ghouse Shukure Kamal, Ashok Subhashchandra Kinagi, Govindaraj Suraj, Engalaguppe Seetharamaiah Indiresh and Sachin Shankar Magadum were cleared by the Apex Court.

Advocates Avinash G Gharote, N B Suryawanshi, Madhav Jamdar, Anil Kilor and Milind Narendra Jadhav were given the nod to be appointed as judges of the Bombay High Court. (AGENCIES)