ReT teachers stage sit-in protests for 7th Pay Commission benefits

ReT teachers raising slogans during a sit in protest at Jammu on Tuesday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh
ReT teachers raising slogans during a sit in protest at Jammu on Tuesday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 28: Continuing their struggle, ReT teachers of the State today staged sit- in protests at both the capitals cities of the State in favour of their demand for the implementation of 7th Pay Commission.
Click here to watch video
Teachers from all the districts of the State assembled at Press Club Jammu and Press Enclave Srinagar where massive sit-in protests were held amidst raising of slogans against the callous attitude of Government towards the Rehbar e Taleem teachers of the State. The protesting ReT teachers were demanding implementation of 7th Pay Commission in favour of more than 41000 SSA teachers of the State
The call for five-day sit-in protest has been given by the Jammu Kashmir Rehabar-e- Taleem Teachers Forum (JKRETTF), headed by its chairman Farooq Ahmed Tantary. Leaders of the Forum said that they are State employees on the basses of RET scheme under State Cabinet order number 396. They said that their salaries were drawn from SSA scheme in past and they were given Rs 1500 per month and after the satisfactory service of five years, they were regularized under a State Government order.
They further said that SSA teachers were earlier given all the benefits of the State Government employees, including 6th Pay Commission and hence there was no logic in denying them 7th Pay Commission.
At Srinagar, the protest was led by Forum State chairman Farooq Ahmed Tantary, who threatened to further intensify the five-day sit in protest call if their demands are not conceded.
At Jammu, the sit in protest was led by senior vice chairman Bhupinder Singh who also threatened to intensify the protest if their demands, including implementation of 7th Pay Commission, regularization of RET teachers, time bound promotions and yearly increments are not conceded by the Government.
Others who addressed the protest demonstration, included Muzafar wani, M M Pathan, Neenu Lata, Khalil Khan, Javeed Chohan, Aftab Tantary, Hamid Nabaz, Ishaq Rashid, Kuldeep Katoch, Majeeb ur Rehman, Bharat Singh Nag, Sameena Kouser, Drub Singh, Sudhir Singh, Ahmed Khan and others.