Restore Statehood to J&K: PYC

PYC activists protest at Jammu on Friday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
PYC activists protest at Jammu on Friday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Nov 15: Pradesh Youth Congress (PYC), J&K held protest against the BJP led Government at the centre for downgrading the J&K State into two Union Territories.
Led by Uday Bhanu Chib, President PYC, J&K, party’s activists assembled near exhibition ground and torched the effigy of BJP Government.
Talking to reporters, Chib said that the people of Telangana and Chhattisgarh after so many agitations got Statehood and it’s very strange that the one full-fledged State has been downgraded to the Union Territories.
“The decision of the Central Government is full of shock and offence for the people of Jammu and Kashmir who are feeling betrayed and downgraded”, Chib said, adding that lowering of status of a 200-year-old State to a UT is irking the minds of the people, who felt disgraced and dishonoured.
He also said that the BJP leaders are misleading the people by saying that the formation of J&K as UT will lead to the path of development. If it is true then why not BJP had converted the States like UP, Bihar, Gujarat as UT as their GDP are lower as compare to the J&K and have more urgency of development, he added.
“We want our pride back, we want our State back”, Chib demanded.
“Pradesh Youth Congress will not be a mute spectator and will intensify its tirade against anti-people decisions,” Chib said, asking Central Government to restore the dignity of people by bringing back the Statehood to J&K.
Among those who joined the protest include Jatinder Chib Block President Congress, Ajaz Choudhary Vice President JKPYC, Ricky Dalotra, Ranjeet Chopra, Nimranjeet Singh, Mudasir Choudhary General Secretaries JKPYC, Avijot Singh, Davinder Singh, Brinder Partap, Diveyansh Jamwal, Jagjoot Singh, Nakul Sharma and Arjun Raina Secretaries JKPYC, Ranjoot Singh Coordinator Sports Cell JKPYC, Neeraj Choudhary DYC President, Rahul Tandon DYC Working President, Jagdeep Chahel, Baber Choudhary VP DYC, Anirudh, Sunny Jatt, Gagan AYC Presidents, Jimmy, Gagan and Pankaj.