Public Service Commission: JK Govt recommends 6 names to Guv

The Jammu and Kashmir government has recommended the names of six persons to Governor N N Vohra for their posting as Chairman and members of the now-defunct Public Service Commission.
“We have recommended the names for chairman and five other posts,” Jammu and Kashmir Education Minister Naeem Akhtar told reporters here today.
“The first major decision (of the cabinet) was that the state is without Public Service Commission and it in itself is a crisis… It is also a constitutional crisis while there are many available vacancies available which needed to be filled,” he said.
The minister said the cabinet has recommended the names of Abdul Latief Deva, the acting vice chairman of the Lakes and Water Works Development, for the post of chairman, whereas other names recommended for various other positions are Prof Rishi Dogra, former registrar of Baba Gulam Shah Badshah University, Mushtaq Wani, former college principal, Prof Indu Kilm, a scholar and academician, retired IAS officer G R Bhagat, and senior KAS officer Munshi Muzaffar Hussain.
He said the cabinet, which met today, took some major decisions including the appointment of the Public Service Commission as the state was without it for some time.
Akhtar said the previous National Conference-Congress government in the state had initiated some exercise in this regard but it did not end the way it was desired.
“There was some exercise done by the previous government, perhaps it was not done in the right way or at the right time so it did not go well. The new government has decided to recommend few names and hope the recommendations are accepted and they are selected by the Governor,” he said.
The Public Service Commission has been rendered defunct completely last year after the retirement of last and lone member K B Jandial in November last year.
The state government had appointed Khurshid Ganaie, a senior IAS officer and Financial Commissioner (Industries and Commerce), as Chairman of the PSC for five years term in place of SL Bhat, who had retired in September last year and six new members.
However, Governor Vohra had returned the file to the government on the ground that Vigilance Organisation clearance, integrity certificate and APRs of some of the members had not been incorporated along with the file. (AGENCIES)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here