PSC gets Chairman, 6 members

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 10: The State Cabinet today ordered posting of senior IAS officer Khurshid Ganaie, Finance Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Industries and Commerce as Chairman of Public Service Commission (PSC) for a term of 5 years. It also appointed six new members to the PSC.
Former PSC Chairman SL Bhat had retired on September 10. All PSC members excepting KB Jandial had also retired and the body was lying defunct since September 10 as Jandial as a member was unable to take any decision.
Six members appointed to the PSC are Wali Mohammad Bhat, Retired DG Accounts and Treasuries, PL Lachotra, Retired DG Statistics and Planning and Mukerjeet Sharma, IFS, who had retired as Director Soil Conservation on September 30, all three from Jammu region, Sheikh Mushtaq, Retired Secretary Higher Education, Dr Tejit Singh, Retired Head of Department (HoD) Ophthalmology and Dr Farooq Kallu, Retired Director of Animal Husbandry Department, all from Kashmir.
Earlier, the PSC Secretary T Kumar, an IFS officer had move to Karnataka in April this year and since then an Under Secretary was officiating as the Secretary of the Commission. Additional Secretary of the PSC, Riaz Ahmad had already been transferred as Joint Director (Administration) SOURA.
The PSC now has Chairman and seven members including six newly appointed and KB Jandial.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here