Protesting teachers take out candle march for 7th Pay Commission

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 11: On 13th day of their ongoing chain hunger strike, the members of Teachers Joint Action Committee (TJAC) took out a peaceful candle march from Parade Ground Jammu towards Governor House, this evening.
The candle march was organized under the leadership of State president JKRTTF, Vinod Sharma, State general secretary JKTF Ganesh Khajuria and State chief coordinator JKRTTF Sukhdev Singh Sumbria.
A large number of teachers marched towards Governor House shouting slogans in favour of their demand of implementation of 7th Pay Commission and delinking of SSA salary from the central funding.
Similar candle march was also held at Srinagar under the leadership of TJAC Chairman Abdul Qayoom Wani and Chairman JKRTTF Abdul Aziz Gazi.
Meanwhile, ongoing indefinite chain hunger strike of Teachers’ Joint Action Committee (TJAC) entered into 13th consecutive day at Jammu and 9th day at Srinagar.
The teachers, who observed their 24- hour fast, included Raj Kumar Dubey, Dinesh Singh, Rajeshwar Singh, Ranjeet Singh, Suresh Kumar, Ajay Singh, Subash Lal, Raghubir Singh, Pushp Raj, Pawan Singh, Jimmy Sambyal, A K Singh, Pawan Sharma, Mohd Aslam, Yash Paul , Brahm Dutt, Surinder Sharma, Bodh Raj and Bishan Shastri