Prof Joorel is new JUTA president

Excelsior Correspondent

Newly elected office bearers of JUTA after announcement of results on Thursday.
JAMMU, Jan 17: Prof J P S Joorel from the Department of Statistics in Jammu University, has been elected as the new JUTA (Jammu University Teachers’ Association) president whereas Dr Rakesh Vaid from the Department of Physics and Electronics, has been elected as the general secretary.
The polling for these coveted positions of JUTA was held today in the seminar hall of the Environmental Sciences, JU.
Out of the total 262 votes, 242 votes were polled. Prof JPS Joorel got 132 votes while Prof Vibhakar Mansotra from the Department of Computer Science and IT, JU received 107 votes, informed, Prof N K Tripathi, Dean Students Welfare and Election Commissioner for the JUTA elections.
In another close contest Dr Rakesh Vaid from Department of Physics and Electronics, JU, defeated his nearest rival Dr Satinder Kumar from the Department of Law, JU, by a narrow margin of only 1 vote. 119 votes were polled in favour of Dr Rakesh Vaid whereas Dr Satinder Kumar secured 118 votes.
As reported earlier, Dr. Kavita Suri from Department of Lifelong Learning, JU, Dr Vijay Saigal from Department of Law and Dr Vivek Sharma, also from Department of Lifelong Learning, already stand elected unopposed as vice-president, Joint secretary and treasurer, respectively. Dr Kavita Suri has become the JUTA vice-president for the second time consecutively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here