Press Club Jammu announces Ashok Sodhi Memorial Photography Awards

Winners of Ashok Sodhi Memorial Photography Awards with jury members and Press Club Management Committee. —Excelsior/Rakesh
Winners of Ashok Sodhi Memorial Photography Awards with jury members and Press Club Management Committee. —Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 21: Press Club of Jammu today announced fifth Ashok Sodhi Memorial Awards for Best Photography 2019 by the four member jury, at a function organised here.
The first prize was grabbed by Ishtiyaq Rasool Magray, student of Gandhi Memorial College of Education. He was awarded a cash prize of Rs 11,000 and a certificate.
The second prize winner was Deepika Sathoo, student of Institute of Mass Communication, Gandhi College and the third prize was bagged by Sanjay Kumar, senior photojournalist from national Hindi Daily Amar Ujala. They were rewarded a cash prize of Rs 8000 and Rs 5000 respectively with a certificate.
Click here to watch video
Meanwhile, the consolation prizes were won by Pankaj Kumar of SKAUST, Jammu; Sanjeev Magotra, Photojournalist from national Hindi Daily Dainik Jagran; S N Acharya, cameraman, Office of the PRO Defence, Jammu; Aakash Gulzar, student of Gandhi Memorial College of Education and Nitin Kanotra, senior photojournalist, Hindustan Times.
Rs 2000 was awarded to the consolation prize winners with a certificate.
The participation of photojournalists increased manifold this year as compared to 2018 and as many as 58 entries were received for the competition.
Around 25 students pursuing Diploma/Degree in Journalism and Mass Communication also participated actively in the competition besides entries from the BSF personnel for the first time.
The competition was judged by the four member jury comprising K B Jandial, former bureaucrat; Sanjit Khajuria, former Deputy Director, News, Doordarshan; Pradeep Dutta, Senior Editor, Times Now and Mukesh Gupta, photojournalist of Reuters.
Before the award ceremony, K B Jandial, Jury Member, presented the report of the screening committee on behalf of the Chairman of the committee.
The awards were presented by president of Press Club, Ashwani Kumar and Secretary General Zorawar Singh Jamwal along with Jury and management committee members.
Finance Secretary, Press Club of Jammu, Dinesh Manhotra, Executive Committee Members Deepak Khajuria, Vishal Bharti, Surjit Singh, Nishikant Khajuria were also present on the occasion.
Others present on the occasion were Channi Anand, Mohit Kandhari, Sominder Koul and prominent journalists, photo journalist from different media houses.