Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by six wickets

Hyderabad, Oct 10:
Opener Abdullah Shafique and wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan smashed fine centuries as Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in a high-scoring World Cup match here on Tuesday.
Shafique, playing only his fifth ODI, slammed a 103-ball 113, while Rizwan battled cramps to hit an unbeaten 131 and shared a 95-run partnership with Saud Shakeel (31) to help Pakistan overhaul Sri Lanka’s total of 344/9 in 48.2 overs.
Following their second win in the tournament, Pakistan climbed one spot to second on the points table behind leaders New Zealand.
Earlier, Kusal Mendis (122) and Sadeera Samarawickrama (108) struck terrific centuries as Sri Lanka posted a huge 344/9.
Mendis clobbered 14 fours and six sixes to make 122 off 77 balls and was involved in two century partnerships. He added 102 runs with Pathum Nissanka (51) for the second wicket and 111 with Samarawickrama for the third. (PTI)

Sri Lanka innings
Pathum Nissanka c Shafique b Shadab 51
Kusal Perera c Rizwan b Hasan 0
Kusal Mendis c Imam b Hasan 122
Sadeera Samarawickrama c Rizwan b Hasan 108
Charith Asalanka c Rizwan b Hasan 1
Dhananjaya de Silva c Afridi b Nawaz 25
Dasun Shanaka c Babar b Afridi 12
Dunith Wellalage c Shafique b Rauf 10
Maheesh Theekshana b Rauf 0
Matheesha Pathirana not out 1
Extras: 14 (b-2, lb-2, nb-1, w-9)
Total: 344/9 in 50 overs
Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-107, 3-218, 4-229, 5-294, 6-324, 7-335, 8-343, 9-344
Bowling: Shaheen Shah Afridi 9-0-66-1, Hasan Ali 10-0-71-4, Mohammad Nawaz 9-0-62-1, Haris Rauf 10-0-64-2, Shadab Khan 8-0-55-1, Iftikhar Ahmed 4-0-22-0.
PAKISTAN innings
Abdullah Shafique c sub (Madi Hemantha) b Pathirana 113
Imam-ul-Haq c Perera b Madushanka 12
Babar Azam c Samarawickrama b Madushanka 10
Mohammad Rizwan not out 131
Saud Shakeel c Wellalage b Theekshana 31
Iftikhar Ahmed not out 22
Extras: (NB-1, W-25) 26
Total (For 4 wkts, 48.2 overs) 345.
Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-37, 3-213, 4-308.
Bowling: Maheesh Theekshana 10-0-59-1, Dilshan Madushanka 9.2-0-60-2, Dasun Shanaka 5-0-28-0, Matheesha Pathirana 9-0-90-1, Dunith Wellalage 10-0-62-0, Dhananjaya de Silva 4-0-36-0, Charith Asalanka 1-0-10-0.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here