Pahari Tribe ST Forum holds convention, demands ST status

Leaders of Pahari Tribe ST Forum holding convention at Sunderbani on Sunday.
Leaders of Pahari Tribe ST Forum holding convention at Sunderbani on Sunday.

Excelsior Correspondent

SUNDERBANI, Feb 6: Extending its outreach programme, Pahari Tribe ST Forum, a socio cultural organization for welfare of Pahari community, held Pahari Tribe convention at Dak Bungalow, Sunderbani.
Prominent members of Pahari community took part in this convention and in one voice reiterated the demand of due ST status to the Pahari ethnicity. Signature campaign was also initiated in the area.
Speakers, on this occasion, deliberated upon their demand for Scheduled Tribe status and said that their genuine demand has unfortunately been ignored since decades and Pahari tribe is still waiting to get its genuine right of ST status.
“After the release of draft by the Delimitation Commission, in which 5 out of 8 MLA constituencies of Rajouri Poonch, has been reserved for ST and this too in the area predominated by the natives of Pahari Tribe in the twin border district is just like a do or die situation for Pahari Tribe to raise their concern with full conviction,” they said.
They said that Pahari ethnicity constitutes a tribe well mentioned by the Government of India with constitutional amendment and live in hilly, tough terrain of border area lacking the deficiency in all sectors and also are part of seasonal migration every year and fulfills all prerequisite to be given Schedule Tribe status.
Pahari Tribe ST Forum executive members, who spoke on the occasion, included Adv Ashan Mirza, Vikrant Sharma, Bharat Bushan Vaid, Adv Gurdev Thakur, Adv Sanjeev Sharma and Manir Mirza.
During the programme, block level bodies of Sunderbani and Siot Block were also announced.
Prominent among those present, included DDC member from Sunderbani Rajinder Sharma, BDC Chairman Siot Balkrishan, Pritam Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Rakesh Sharma, Somdutt Sharma, Sarpanch Bodh Raj Sharma, Sarpanch Anil Kumar, Councillor Dr Anjana Verma, Inder Paul, Yash Paul, Gian Chand Sharma, Chaman Raina, Rajkumar, Madan Paul Sharma, Ravinder Singh, Rakesh Sharma, Om Parkash, Vishal Kessar Suram Chand, Sanjay Sharma, Vishal Sharma, Anil Sharma and others.