Outgoing VC of SKUAST-Jammu accorded farewell

Prof JP Sharma being accorded farewell on Thursday.
Prof JP Sharma being accorded farewell on Thursday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 2: Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology-Jammu (SKUAST-J) accorded a warm farewell to the outgoing Vice Chancellor, Prof J P Sharma, here today.
The function was organized under the leadership of Prof Nazir Ahmad Ganai, Vice Chancellor, SKUAST Jammu.
During the function, Prof J P Sharma was felicitated for his achievements and contribution in the growth and development of University. Prof Nazir Ahmad Ganai, Vice Chancellor, SKUAST-Kashmir, who has been assigned additional charge of SKUAST-Jammu, listed remarkable contributions of Prof J P Sharma for bringing the SKUAST-Jammu at national and international level.
Prof Ganai said that the employees of SKUAST – Jammu must acknowledge the contribution of Prof Sharma and should move further with his initiatives to make the SKUAST-Jammu as a world class university. He wished Prof Sharma healthy and happy post retirement life.
Prof. J. P. Sharma, in his emotional address, thanked to all the employees of SKUAST-Jammu for their love, affection and support during his tenure. He was accompanied with his wife Dr Sumati Sharma, former Additional Director, DRDO, New Delhi.
Prof Sharma was felicitated by presenting a bouquet, memento and shawl by SKUAST-Jammu, Teaching Association, SKUAST-TAJ and Non-Teaching Employees Association. Public representatives /farmers also felicitated Prof Sharma for his contribution for the upliftment of farmers of Jammu and Kashmir UT. Chanting of mantras by Pandit Vishal Sharma was also the part of superannuation ceremony.
Earlier, Dr S E H Rizvi, Dean, F.B.Sc; Dr S K Gupta, Director Extension; Dr S K Gupta, Registrar and Dean, Faculty of Horticulture and Forestry; Dr M S Bhadwal, Dean FVSc & AH; Dr Vikas Sharma, President, Teaching Association Jammu, Sardar K D Singh, President, NTEA SKUAST-Jammu also spoke on the occasion.
Dr Rakesh Nanda, Director Education; Dr Jyoti Kachroo, Director Planning and Monitoring,; Dr S E H Rizvi, Dean, Faculty of Basic Sciences, Dr A K Sharma, University Librarian; Dr. Rajinder Peshin, Controller Examination; Dr B C Sharma, Dean, FoA and others were also present on the occasion.