NSF, NCSU pay tributes to student martyrs; 3-day JJSF fast concludes

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Oct 18: The three-day long fast by JJSF activists as a mark of respect in memory of the student martyrs of 1966, culminated today while National Secular Forum, National Conference Students Union and other organizations also visited the Shahidi Sthal outside GGM Science College and paid their tributes to the students martyrs .
The three-day fast by JJSF activists, namely Sunil Chouhan, Sulaksh Kotwal, Ritesh Choudhary and Pankaj Kerni concluded amidst by performing of Havan for peace to the departed souls. Later juice was offered to the fasting students by K S Sambyal, Jt Director, Agriculture Deptt and Zorawar Singh Jamwal, Chairman Team Jammu.

Click here to watch video
Others,  who were present on the occasion, included  Prof  Satinder Singh (Principal, GGM Science College), Prof  Koushal Samotra (Principal, GCW Gandhi Nagar), Dr  Romesh Chander (Principal, SPMR College of Commerce), Prof  Ajit Angral (Principal, MAM College), Vikas Sharma (president Teachers Association SKUAST Jammu), Vivek Arya (general secretary Teachers Association SKUAST Jammu), Rajesh Langer (president Agriculture Employees Association), Vilakshan Singh (Chairman Duggar Kranti Sena), D N  Mehta, P D K. Uppal (president Non Teaching Staff SKUAST Jammu), Clinton, Kuldeep, Abhishek, Nitin, Vikas, Love, Atul, Prajwal, Prince, Shiva, Ankush, Sachin, Rishab and many others.
Meanwhile, NSF activists, led by president Dr Vikas  Sharma, also paid floral tributes to the student martyrs  after  visiting the Shahidi Sthal where a two-minute silence was also observed as a mark of respect in  memory of the martyrs.
President NSF urged the student community to remain vigilant and be ready for sacrifices for the nationalistic cause to end the sufferings of student community of Jammu division. He was accompanied by Anshu Sharma, Manmohan Singh, Mohit Slathia, Rahul Sharma, Robin Singh, and others.
National Conference Student Union also paid tribute to student martyrs at Shahidi Sthal under the leadership of Sahil Singh Jamwal, president NCSU.
While addressing the students, Sahil Singh highlighted the life history of student martyrs who fought for the Agricultural university to Jammu. He was accompanied by Vikas Pandita, Ratesh Choudhary, Vivek Parihar,  Vijay Deol, Shubum,  Mohit Aryan,     Manik Raina,  Akash Deep,  Nasir, Ankit, Mohit Aryan,  Niggit,   Harsh,  Pryinka, Ankush   and  Rinku.
It is pertinent to mention here that four students,  namely Brij Mohan, Subash Chander, Gulshan Handa and S  Gurcharan Singh were killed in police firing in 1966 while protesting against the then Government  for discriminating with Jammu.