NC urges Governor to allow Jammu leaders to meet Abdullahs

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Oct 3: Jammu and Kashmir National Conference today urged Governor Satya Pal Malik to allow a delegation of the senior party leaders from Jammu to meet the NC president Dr Farooq Abdullah and the Vice President Omar Abdullah, who are currently under detention in Srinagar.
The party will chalk out the future course of action after meeting the top leadership.
At an emergent meeting at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan here, convened soon after lifting of restrictions on the movement of senior leaders based in Jammu, the party also took a detailed review of the political situation in the State.
Provincial President Devender Singh Rana presided over the meeting, which was attended by the senior functionaries, including the district presidents of the Jammu region and office bearers of the provincial committee.
In a resolution, unanimously adopted at the meeting, the NC leaders pledged to strengthen bonds of communal harmony, unity, togetherness and inclusive democratic polity-a long cherished agenda set for the State by Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah. It also pledged to strive for strengthening the bonds of unity so that the pristine glory of Jammu and Kashmir is restored. The meeting pledged to work to safeguard the interests of the people of the State so that they are not deprived of the rights and privileges enjoyed by them.
While reiterating that dissent was core of the democracy, NC leaders expressed concern over the situation in the wake of unfortunate political developments during the past two months. It sought immediate release of all the political leaders, withdrawing restrictions on the free movement and expression of the people and ensuring liberty by restoring democracy.
The party leaders expressed anguish over continued detention of the senior leaders including Dr Farooq Abdullah and Omar Abdullah, as also the other top leaders of the mainstream political parties. The resolution strongly condemned the detention of Dr Farooq Abdullah under PSA, notwithstanding his immense and crucial role in the democratic polity of the country and contribution in steering the State to peace, progress and development, braving all odds.
Besides former ministers Ajay Sadhotra, Surjeet Singh Slathia and Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo, the meeting was attended by Rattan Lal Gupta, Mushtaq Bukhari, Rachpal Singh, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Th Kashmira Singh, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Babu Rampal, Brij Mohan Sharma, T S Wazir, Vijay Bakaya, Haji Mohd Hussain, Dr Chaman Lal Bhagat, Master Noor Hussain, Jugal Mahajan, Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Bimla Luthra, Pardeep Bali,Vijay Laxami Dutta, Satwant Kour Dogra, Swarn Lata, Ch Haroon, Dr Gagan Bhagat, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Anil Dhar, S S Bunty, Vijay Lochan, Dr Mehboob Iqbal, Sunil Verma, Vijay Khajuria, Rohit Bali and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here