NC asks Parrikar to come clear on ‘security lapses’

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU,  Dec 4: National Conference today lashed out at BJP for failing to generate stable security environment due to its policy paralysis.
“With terror attacks alarmingly swelling and border skirmishes causing perpetual anxiety among dwellers along the Line of Control and International Border, the NDA Government seems to be clueless in its response”, senior NC functionaries said in a joint statement here this afternoon.
Condemning Nagrota terror attack and conveying condolences to the families of seven brave soldiers, they expressed surprise over brazen admission of the Union Defence Minister, Manohar Parrikar about ‘sort of lethargy’ setting in over a period of time. “Instead of instilling sense of confidence among the people, the Defence Minister feels elated over the recent surgical strike, terming it as a good confidence building measure for India and in the same breath he talks about lapses”, they said, urging that loose plugs in the security grid needed to be plugged, as this excuse can be accepted one time but not all the times.
“The same alibi had been given when Pathankote terror attack occurred and this is being parroted over Uri, Baramulla and now Nagrota attacks”, they added.
They further said that BJP  was suffering from the delusion of intellectual superiority while the case was otherwise. Its leaders cannot show bravado and also get away with failures. They are accountable to the people who are best judges to differentiate between rhetoric and actions on ground.
“Always tuned to high moral grandstanding in public domain over national security, the BJP leaders, especially its ministers and the local Member Parliament were not to be seen anywhere during the Nagrota terror attack”, the joint statement observed.
“The Nagrota episode has exposed BJP before the people, especially after the Union Defence Minister publicly admitted lapses and failures”, it said.
Signatories to the joint statement included Provincial president  Devender Singh Rana, senior leaders and former ministers Ajay Kumar Sadhotra, Surjeet Singh Slathia, Malik Abdul Gani, S Harbans Singh, Syed Mushtaq Ahmed Shah Bukhari,  Sajjad Kichloo,  Khalid Najeeb Suharwardhy, Babu Rampal and Jagjeevan Lal; Legislators  Javed Rana,  Kamal Arora and Master Noor Hussain; former MPs Mirza Abdul Rashid and Sheikh Abdul Rehman, former legislators Rattan Lal Gupta, Kashmira Singh,  Rachpal Singh, Qazi Jalal-ud-Din,  Vijay Bakaya,  Ajaz Jan, Ghulam Haider Malik,  Satpal Lakhotra, Bushan Lal Bhat, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed,  Brij Mohan Sharma,  Bimla Luthra,  Deepinder Kour, Dr Chaman Lal,  Som Nath Khajuria,  Ch Haroon, Jugal Mahajan, Anil Dhar,  S S Sasan,  S S Bunty, Vijay Lochan,  Abdul Gani Teli,  Satwant Kour Dogra,  Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Sajjad Shaheen, Tanvir Kichloo and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here