NC, AP backed candidates win DDC seats in re-poll

Excelsior Correspondent

Srinagar, Dec 8: The National Conference (NC) and Apni Party (AP) backed Independent candidates today won the District Development Council (DDC) elections in twin constituencies of North Kashmir in a re-poll.
The DDC seats of Drugmulla in Kupwara district and Bandipora’s Hajin-A were won by Independent candidates, Advocate Amina Majeed of Drugmulla and Naza Begum of Hajin-A respectively today. Amina was backed by the NC and Naza by the Apni Party.
An official said that the DDC constituency Drugmulla, Kupwara was won by NC backed independent candidate, Aamina Majeed by 39 votes who defeated her rival candidate Shabnam Rehman of Peoples Conference.
The DDC constituency Bandipora Hajin (A) also went to AP backed independent candidate Naza Begum, who defeated her nearest rival of the PC Ateeqa Bano by 423 votes.
According to Returning Officer, an Independent candidate, Amina Majeed got 3259 votes followed by PDP candidate Shabnam Rehman with 3220 votes, Apni party candidate Hameeda Begum 1474 votes, INC candidate Shabroz Hassan 746 votes, BJP candidate Shakeela Akhtar 877 votes, Independent Candidate Rifat Jan 612 votes Independent candidate Rafiqa Bano 123 votes, Independent candidate Hafeeza Begum 46 votes, Gulshan Begum 34 votes and 28 votes by Saima Begum.
Similarly, in DDC Bandipora Hajin A, independent candidate Naza Begum secured, 2706, PC candidate Ateeqa Bano managed to get 2283, Kulsooma Begum BJP got 387, while NC backed Independent candidate secured 2178 votes.
Advocate Amina Majeed while speaking to reporters after her win said that she is thankful to everyone who supported her during the entire process.
“I extend my gratitude to my people for voting in my favour. I also extend my warm regards to civil administration, police for the smooth conduct of elections. I am thankful of National Conference for their ground support,” she added.
Earlier, counting of votes for the two District Development Council (DDC) elections in North Kashmiris Drugmulla Kupwara and Hajin Bandipora, began at 9 am on and lasted till 4 pm with the around 4 rounds to declare the winners.
The counting of DDC Drugmulla was held at ITI Kupwara, while the counting of Hajin A was held at Bandipora DC office Bandipora.
Twin constituencies of North Kashmir, Drugmulla DDC constituency spanning over 42 polling stations with 32 thousand voters, witnessed 5624 males and 5109 females voting for their candidates. The Hajin (A) seat had 28 polling stations and 16000 voters.
DDC Drugmulla had 10 candidates- Hameeda Begum (Apni Party), Shabnum Rehman (PAGD candidate), Shabroza Hassan (Indian National Congress), Shakeela Akhter (Bharatiya Janata Party), Adv. Aamina Majeed (Independent), Hafeeza Begum (Independent), Rifat Jan (Independent), Rafeeqa Bano (Independent), Saima Begum (Independent) and Gulshan Begum (Independent).
For Hajin (A) in Bandipora, five candidates in fray were Zahida Begum (Independent), Ateeqa Bano (Peoples Conference), Aabida Bano (Independent), Naza Bano (Independent) and Kulsooma Begum (Bharatiya Janata Party).
The DDC elections took place in December 2020 and the counting of votes was withheld in Drugmulla and Hajin (A) owing to ‘disputed credentials’ of two candidates – Soomia Sadaf and Shazia Aslam. The State Election Commission (SEC) declared the polling in these constituencies as void, cancelling the candidature of both the candidates and directed for fresh polls on the two seats.