Modi Govt brought space technology to every Indian household: Dr Jitendra

Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh, flanked by Chairman ISRO Dr K Sivan, lighting the traditional lamp to formally inaugurate National Conference on Space Technology, at Ahmedabad.

Excelsior Correspondent
AHMEDABAD, Sept 27: Union Minister of State (I/C) North Eastern Region, MoS PMO, Personnel, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr. Jitendra Singh said here that the Modi Government has brought Space technology to every Indian household in the last five years. He said, “Prime Minister Narendra Modi has a naturally scientific temper and is always ready to promote scientists and scientific endeavours”.
Dr Singh delivering the inaugural address of two-day National Conference on ‘System for Transforming India: Challenges and Opportunities’ at Space Application Centre, Ahmedabad, held in collaboration with Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) .
Emphasizing the use of space technology for the common people, Dr Jitendra Singh said that there are some examples of the use of space technology such as road transport, railway, unmanned railway crossing and geo-tagging of works under MNREGA. He said that three to four years ago, there were reports of accidents at unmanned railway crossings. But the use of space technology has shown a significant reduction in such accidents.
Dr Singh further said that it was difficult to get the Fund Utilization Certificate in the North East region. With the use of space technology, it became possible to get such stuck fund utilization certificate of worth Rs. 7000 crore, he said.
Praising ISRO and the Department of Space, the Minister said that ISRO has built a work culture through dedication and commitment that other scientific communities should follow. “I can say with pride that India will soon become a superpower and this journey will start with the Department of Space.”, he said.
ISRO Chairman Dr. K Sivan also spoke on the occasion. During the inaugural ceremony, the Minister also released the souvenir of the conference and conferred ISSE awards.