Ministry announces changes in National Youth Awards

 Gurmehar row: Don't call our players illiterates, says Goel
 Gurmehar row: Don't call our players illiterates, says Goel

NEW DELHI: Sports Minister Vijay Goel today announced several changes in the National Youth Awards structure by increasing the number of recipients and making it more broad-based and transparent in the selection process.

The National Youth Awards will henceforth be given to 25 individuals and in 10 organisations.

“The number of awards in the Voluntary Organisation category has now been increased from 1 to 10 and the prize money is Rs 2,00,000 with a trophy and certificate. The amount of money for the award in the ‘Individual’ category has also been enhanced to Rs 50,000 and will be given to 25 individuals,” the ministry said in a statement.

Earlier, only one award was given under Voluntary Organisation category, working with the youth for national development and social service.

For the first time, it has been decided that the nomination for the National Youth Awards should be received and processed through online mode, on the lines of the Padma Awards, to cover the people on pan-India basis. (AGENCIES)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here