MHA to empanel IPS officers of 4 batches

*IGP, DIG back from Central deputation
Sanjeev Pargal
JAMMU, June 30: Even as two senior police officers have returned from Central deputation and reported to the Police Headquarters, the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has set the process in motion for empanelment of 1979, 1983, 1993 and 1999 batch IPS officers as Director General of Police (DGPs), Additional DGPs, IGPs and DIGs respectively.
Official sources told the Excelsior that VK Singh, an IPS officer of 1987 batch who had been on a crucial Central assignment to Singapore for last five years, has returned from the deputation. On joining back at the Police Headquarters, Mr Singh would become the senior most IGP in Jammu and Kashmir as all three IPS officers of 1986 batch have already been elevated as Additional DGPs.
Satish Khandare, an IPS officer of 1995 batch, who was on deputation to Maharashtra for last over seven years, has also returned and reported back to Police Headquarters. He would be the senior most DIG in the State. Shiv Darshan Singh Jamwal, an IPS officer of 1995 batch and senior most DIG was on deputation with the Government of India, posted in the Intelligence Bureau (IB) since March 2011.
During five years deputation, VK Singh remained posted in Singapore on crucial RAW assignment while Khandare served as Police Commissioner of Pune and Nagpur in Maharashtra besides holding other crucial assignments.
In the seniority list, Mr Singh is followed by IGP Kashmir SM Sahai and IGP Jammu Dilbagh Singh, both of whom were also 1987 batch IPS officers.
Meanwhile, sources said, the Home Department has received a communication from the MHA seeking details of the IPS officers of 1979, 1983, 1993 and 1999 batch IPS officers for their empanelment as DGPs, ADGPs, IGPs and DIGs.
A communiqué sent by KK Mittal, Joint Secretary (Police) in the MHA has been received by the Principal Secretary (Home) BR Sharma, sources said, adding the Home Department was in the process of sending requisite details to the Centre.
While there was no IPS officer of 1979 and 1983 batch in Jammu and Kashmir, there were two IGPs of 1993 batch including Deepak Kumar, presently posted as IGP Headquarters and Gulzar Singh Slathia, IGP Armed. Kumar was a Direct Recruit while Slathia was KPS officer conferred with IPS in 1993.
However, there were 11 IPS officers of 1999 batch, who could be benefited by the MHA decision for their empanelment as DIG as all of them were presently working as Selection Grade SSPs.
They included Anand Jain, S R Samuel, Nitish Kumar, who was on deputation with the National Investigating Agency (NIA), Manmohan Singh, SSP Traffic, Ashkoor Wani, SSP Udhampur, Ali Mohammad, Vijay Singh Samyal, JL Sharma, SSP CID (Special Branch), Jammu, Bashir Ahmed Itoo, Israr Ahmed Khan, SSP Samba and Nissar Ahmed, SSP Crime Branch, Jammu.
First three IPS officers of 1999 batch including Anand Jain, S R Samuel and Nitish Kumar were Direct Recruits while others were KPS officers conferred with IPS from 1999.
Sources said the empanelment wouldn’t confer right upon the officers for their promotion. However, they would be empanelled in the MHA and would be entitled for the promotion.
They added that in Jammu and Kashmir only 1993 and 1999 batch IPS officers would be empanelled as IGPs and DIGs as there were no officers of 1979 and 1983 batch.
The Annual Performance Reports, Vigilance clearance and Chief Vigilance Commission clearance for the officers along with the State Government comments would be sent to the Cabinet Secretariat for empanelment as DGs and ADGs, if any, while for IGP and DIG level posts, these reports would got to Department of Personnel and Trainings, New Delhi.
After 1974 batch IPS officers—PS Gill and Kuldeep Khoda, both of whom retired as DGPs of Punjab and J&K respectively, there were two officers of 1984 batch—K Rajendera Kumar, present DGP and PL Gupta, Vigilance Commissioner.
After them, there were four ADGPs of 1985 and 1986 batch including S K Mishra, who was on deputation with the Border Security Force (BSF), Dr Ram Lubhaya, ADG Security, Dr S Gopal Reddy, who was also on deputation to Andhra Pradesh, all 1985 batch, Dr Shesh Pal Vaid, ADGP headquarters, D R Doley, ADG Home Guards and Civil Defence and Naveen Aggarwal, ADG Prisons, all from 1986 batch.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here