Majority of DDC Ind winners associated with PAGD

3, two affiliated with NC, join AP

Fayaz Bukhari
SRINAGAR, Dec 26: As the Independent candidates in Kashmir won 31 seats and they are said to be holding key for the formation of chairpersons of the District Development Boards across the Valley but the fact is majority of them have party affiliations of the constituents of the Peoples Alliance for Gupkar Declaration (PAGD).
There are 31 Independent DDC candidates in Kashmir valley and 13 of them were from National Conference and didn’t get mandate, 4 from People’s Democratic Party (PDP), three from Peoples Conference and two were fielded by Apni Party as Independent candidates while 9 of them have no previous party affiliation.
In Srinagar, all seven Independent DDC members have party affiliations with three each of them to NC and PC while one has AP affiliation. Shaista Aslam, Ali Mohammad Rather and Bilal Ahmad Bhat who were elected from Harwan I , Harwan II and Srinagar I have NC affiliation, Rizwana Akhtar, Jameela Begam and Mohammad Yasin Rather elected from Harwan IV, Qamarwari I and Qamarwari II have PC affiliation and Mohammad Shaban Chopan elected from Harwan VI has AP affiliation.
In Budgam two DDC members elected from Beerwah and Khag constituencies have affiliation with PDP and AP respectively. Nazir Ahmad Khan who is Independent DDC member now from Beerwah in district Budgam had contested Parliamentary elections from Srinagar-Budgum constituency against Dr Farooq Abdullah on PDP ticket. Nisar Ahmad Sheikh DDC member from Khag has affiliation with AP.
In Ganderbal district, Safapora and Kangan-B DDC Independent candidates Abdul Rashid Bhat and Mian Amjad Hussain have NC affiliation. Independent candidate, Sajjad Ahmad Rather, who won from Lar-1 in Ganderbal district and has been affiliated with PDP.
Mehmooda Akhtar, Javed Rahim Bhat and Munshah Begum elected as DDC members from Shadimarg, Pulwama B and Achgoza in district Pulwama respectively are affiliated with NC.
In Shopian district Bilquees Jan and Faziludin Deedad elected as DDC members from Zainapora I and Keller I have NC affiliation. Bilquees Jan and Faziludin Deedad, however, joined AP.
Haji Farooq Ahmad who was elected from Wavoora in district Kupwara is affiliated with PDP.
Ghulam Mohammad Rather who was elected from Arin Bandipora has PDP affiliation, Farwa Ibrahim and Farzil Ahmad Dar were elected from Nowgam and Hajin C respectively and are affiliated with NC.
Muzaffar Ahmad Dar who was elected from Tujjar Sharif in Baramulla has NC affiliation and Safeena Beg wife of Muzaffar Hussain Beg was affiliated with PDP but her husband resigned from PDP.
Peer Shahbaz Ahmad who was elected from Verinag is former Block president of Congress.