Maharaja Gulab Singh Research Centre in Jammu inaugurated

Dr Karan Singh inaugurating Maharaja Gulab Singh Research Centre at Jammu on Friday.
Dr Karan Singh inaugurating Maharaja Gulab Singh Research Centre at Jammu on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Oct 20: Maharaja Gulab Singh Research Centre was formally inaugurated here today by Dr Karan Singh, the former Union Minister and Member of Parliament.
The Centre, which is part of Maharaja Gulab Singh Trust, has been established in order to advance, stimulate and encourage leaning and research in the history and culture of the region of Jammu. It would strive to generate and disseminate an informed body of knowledge on the trajectories of historical developments of the State. The activities of the Centre shall also extend into the areas which are germane to creating environment for the advancement and the promotion of artists and the cultural heritage of the region. The other objective of the Centre is to address the issue relating to the cultural cohesion and national integration and how both could be developed and strengthened without diluting regional diversities and uniqueness of the region. In order to meet these objectives the centre intends to organize talks, debates, seminars, workshops, conferences meetings etc and also bring out research journals, books. As small steps towards the realization of its aims and objective, the Centre is organizing its first major activities in the form of a one day national seminar on Maharaja Gulab Singh on 22nd of October.
Dr Sushma J Barnawal, the Research Consultant of the Centre, informed that at present the Centre is also engaged in collection and documentation of different sources which are lying in various archives located in the different parts of the country.
The inauguration was attended by various members of civil society, prominent of them being, MLC Ajatshatru Singh, former Minister Sham Lal Sharma, Dr Ved Kumari Ghai, Prof Champa Sharma, Maj Gen G S Jamwal, Prof Suman Jamwal, Prof Sham Narayan Lal, Ajay Gandotra, Mubarak Singh, Vikram Sharma, G R Bhagat, Dr Neeraj Sharma, Hans Raj Hans and Brigadier J S Rajput.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here