LC Panel seeks report on encroachment of Kashmiri migrants’ properties

Excelsior Correspondent
SRINAGAR, June 6: The meeting of the Department Related Standing Committee (DRSC-I) of Legislative Council was held here today under the chairmanship of MLC, Qaiser Jamsheed Lone to review the overall functioning of Revenue, Relief & Rehabilitation Department.
Legislators, Ghulam Nabi Monga, Mohammad Khursheed Alam, Girdhari Lal Raina and Naresh Kumar Gupta attended the meeting and gave their valuable suggestions to make the functioning of the department more vibrant.
Commissioner/Secretary, Revenue Department, Shahid Anayatullah, Regional Director, S&LR, Jammu Rifat Kohli briefed the meeting about the functioning and status of various issues related to their respective wings including maintenance, preservation and updating of land records, progress of digitalization work, details of vacancies of Tehsildars and Naib Tehsildars in the State.
The Commissioner Secretary, Revenue informed that the process of digitization of Revenue records is apace and maximum work stand completed with the Central assistance, while as the entire process is likely to be completed by ending March 2022.
The Committee was also informed about the steps taken for preservation and protection of immovable property of Kashmiri migrants and religious places including temples and shrines in Valley, details relating to the properties identified under the J&K Migrant Immovable Property (Preservation, Protection and Restraint on Distress Sale Act, 1997).
The Committee directed the concerned authorities to submit a comprehensive report on the encroachment of migrants’ immovable property and land attached to religious places in Kashmir Valley within a week’s time for the scrutiny of the members of the Committee. The Committee also sought details of DPCs conducted by the Revenue Department from last 3 years.
The meeting was also attended by Relief and Rehabilitation Commissioner, M L Raina, Director Finance Relief, Seema Bhasin, Additional Secretary, DMRR, V K Dhar, Additional Secretary, Revenue, Dr. Abdul Salam, Special Secretary Legislative Council, Mohammad Ashraf Wani and senior officers of Council Secretariat and Revenue, Relief & Rehabilitation Department.