Kashmir World Film Festival postponed due to COVID- 19

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 23: Due to the prevailing situation of COVID-19 across the world, the Management Committee of Kashmir World Film Festival has taken a decision of postponing the 5th Edition of the festival, which was scheduled to start from June 10, 2020.
This decision was taken after the consultation with the members of ‘Advisory Board’ of KWFF. The decision about the new dates for holding the 5th’ Edition of KWFF will be taken in August or September 2020.
Kashmir World Film Festival is the first Intellectual Property of its kind and magnitude in Kashmir and since July 2017, we have successfully conducted ‘4’ Editions of this festival.
“Our endeavour is to bring this festival in the list of top 10 film festivals of the world, to empower the Kashmiri youth and film enthusiasts with film making knowledge for success in their careers and to empower the Kashmiri business fraternity with film production based tourism business,” said Mushtaq Ali Ahmad Khan, Director of KWFF.
In the previous editions held in Srinagar, the KWFF had felicitated the film celebrities like Tabu, Madhur Bhandarkar, Rajit Kapur, Raju Ji Chadha, Rahul Mitra, Saeed Mirza, Govind Nihalani, Imam Siddiqui, Preeti Sapru, Arjuman Mughal, Rahul Bhat, Imran Khan, Ved Rahi, Sateesh Kaul, Vani Tripathi, and others.
“So far in our last four editions, we received more than 460 films and out of those, only 136 films were screened, that included films from 15 countries like, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Iran, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea, Lebanon, Nepal, Poland, Spain, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, USA, etc. We also had participating films from different parts of India in different languages like Assamese, Bengali, Bhojpuri, Dogri, English, Guajarati, Gurung, Hindi, Kashmiri, Kuchi, Ladakhi, Malayalam, Marathi, Punjabi, Sindhi, Tamil, Tibetan and Urdu,” he added.
The Advisory Board formed for the festival include the personalities like, Anjum Rajabali, Anubhav Sinha, Archana Kapoor, Arunaraje Patil, Ashok Kaul, Govind Nihalani, Sayyed Humayun Qaisar, Komal Nahata, Narendra Mohan, O P Sharma, Pankaj Saxena, Premendra Majumdar, Raj Bansal, Rahul Mitra, Rajit Kapur, Raju Ji Chadha, Salim Arif, Santosh Sivan, Sarvdeep Singh, Saeed Mirza and Vinod Kapoor.