Judges’ remarks on ‘turban’ politically motivated: DGPC

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Apr 26:  District Gurudwara Parbandhak Committee (DGPC) Jammu  and various other Sikh  bodies of the J&K including SGPB, have termed the remarks of the two judges of the country on turban issue as `politically motivated’.
Addressing a joint press conference here today, the heads of various organizations expressed strong resentment over the issue and  alleged that the remarks seems to be `politically motivated’. They said when in  half of the world, the turban of the Sikh community members has been acceptable, the judges in our own country have raised the fresh controversy.

Click here to Watch Video
TS Wazir, president State Gurudwara Parbandhak Board (SGPB),  while condemning the observations of the Judges Justice SA Budhe   and Justice L N Rao that `whether wearing a turban was necessary under the religion or just covering one’s head while referring to sports persons from Sikh community who do not wear turban while participating in games,’  Wazir said the judges have tried to raise fresh controversy as this issues is connected to the religious sentiments of the community. He said from Guru Nanak Dev ji to Guru Gobind Singhji, all the Sikh Gurus were wearing turban and the matter is connected with their religion. The Sikhs as per directions from their Gurus are duty bound to wear turban. Moreover, it is covered under fundamental  rights of the country. Therefore, raising such issues only amounts to raising controversies.
Wazir alleged that this has hurt the religious sentiments of the Sikh community and the learned judges must avoid raising such religious issues. He said when many countries  have exempted Sikhs to wear helmets, the judges of our country are questioning its mandatory nature. Even the Air Force Officers from the community are exempted from wearing helmets.    Therefore, it is advised to the judges to handle such cases with utmost care, Wazir maintained.
Prominent among others who spoke on the occasion included Avtar Singh Khalsa DGPC general secretary, Jathedar Mohinder Singh, S Kuldeep Singh(SAD), S Darbinder Singh, Harjinder Singh Raina, Manmohan Singh, Ramneek Singh, Raja Singh, Fatesh Singh, Adv Surinder Singh, R S Nalwa, Manjit Singh, Jaspal Singh Mangal, Bhai Gurdev Singh and Harbhajan Singh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here