JKPYC stages unique protest against unabated fuel price hike

PYC activists staging protest in Jammu on Tuesday. —Excelsior/Rakesh
PYC activists staging protest in Jammu on Tuesday. —Excelsior/Rakesh

*Teach BJP lesson for brazen loot: Udhay

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Oct 19: Indian Youth Congress (IYC) today staged a unique and strong protest against the continuous hike in fuel prices across the nation today.
A large number of J&K Youth Congress activists and workers led by Udhay Bhanu Chib, president JKPYC, assembled outside a petrol pump in Jammu and handed over tax amount of Rs 65 on one litre petrol to the people coming to petrol pumps to get their vehicles filled with the fuel. It is pertinent to mention here that consumers were handed over the cash equivalent of tax levied by Jammu and Kashmir Administration on the petrol purchased by them.
While talking to media at the site of protest, JKPYC president, Udhay Bhanu Chib said that today’s unique protest against the BJP Govt has been organized to make the consumers aware about the `brazen loot’ to which the incumbent Union Govt has resorted to by imposing tax on fuels like petrol and diesel. He said that a consumer today has to pay around Rs 105 per litre for petrol out of which Rs 65 is the tax imposed that goes into BJP Govt’s coffers. Moreover, if the other duties are also taken into consideration then the basic cost of petrol per litre for the Govt is just Rs 40.
This clearly exposes the anti-consumer intentions of the BJP Govt. He said that it is really an irony that this is the same BJP that while being in opposition used to raise hue and cry even on a meager hike in fuel prices and now under its regime all previous records have been broken with the hike in prices on almost daily basis.
Chib questioned BJP for its failure to ensure the safety of innocents in Kashmir at a time when law and order in J&K is directly under the Union Home Ministry. “The BJP Government’s inability to protect the Kashmiri Pandit community and civilians at large is a direct result of the instability they have caused in the region,” he added.
Among those who joined the protest include Ajaz Choudhary, Ricky Dalotra, Sahil Singh Langeh, Ranjoit Singh, Latish Sharma, Jagjoot Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Happy Randhawa, Manav Choudhary, Khushwant, Ashutosh Anchal and Sunil Singh Manhas.