J&K Vidvat Parishad constituted

JKVP president Prof Vishwa Murti Shastri along with other office bearers addressing a press conference at Jammu. -Excelsior/Rakesh
JKVP president Prof Vishwa Murti Shastri along with other office bearers addressing a press conference at Jammu. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Aug 7: For the preservation of Indian culture, Sanskrit and Vedas, the Jammu and Kashmir Vidvat Parishad (JKVP) affiliated to the Kashi Vidvat Parishad, Varanasi has been constituted in the Union Territory for mutual harmony among all sections.
Prof Vishwa Murti Shastri, president and convener of the Parishad in a press conference at Press Club, Jammu stressed on the preservation of Vedic culture, expansion of Kashi Vidya Parishad and sought the support of the people of J&K.

Click here to watch video
Prof Vishwa Murti Shastri while speaking on the occasion said, “The main objective of the J&K Vidvat Parishad is to establish schools for the subjects of Vedas, Dharma Shastra etc, to make arrangements for comprehensive reading, to attract the attention of the general public while maintaining the pedantic tradition prevalent in Sanskrit, to resolve the allegations being made on Indian culture on a classical basis and establish its side, to solve the questions, objections and curiosities coming on the basic pillar of Indian culture, Vedas, etc.”
He said the motive is to warn the Indian public through lecture series to face the invaders of the growing western civilization in the country, sending pandits for the promotion of Sanskrit and culture in the country, publication of manuscripts & magazines, felicitate eminent scholars of the country, establishment of libraries, reading rooms and schools related to Sanskrit culture to keep the tradition of Indian culture intact.
Prof Shastri said that Pawan Shastri ji (president of Jammu Yatri Niwas), Prof Manoj Kumar Mishra, Prof Bharat Bhushan Sharma, Prof Ram Bahadur Shukla, Dr Surendra Shastri, Dr Chandramouli Raina and Hansraj Shastri have been appointed as vice presidents of the J&K Vidvat Parishad while Dr Prakash Shastri has been given the responsibility of the general secretary.
“Dr Shiv Prasad Raina, Shakti Dutt Sharma, Sudhanshu Sharma and Dr Varchaskam Sharma have been appointed as secretaries, Praveen Kumar Shastri as treasurer, Sushant Shastri as spokesperson, Dr Vijendra Shastri and Dr Purushottam Das Shastri as organization secretary while Abhimanyu Sharma, Shambhuram Sharma and Rakesh Shastri have been appointed as publicity secretaries.