Jammu traders demand financial assistance

Ware House traders at a meeting in Jammu on Saturday.
Ware House traders at a meeting in Jammu on Saturday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 7: Traders Federation Ware House, Nehru Market Jammu has appealed to the Government to provide financial assistance to the Jammu traders.
A meeting of the members of the Federation was held today under the chairmanship Deepak Gupta, general secretary in the presence of Dheeraj Gupta, senior vice president, Munish Mahajan vice president, Abhimanyu Gupta secretary and other members to discuss the acute financial crisis being faced by Jammu traders.
During discussions, members raised the issue that due to stoppage of communications, the Business Sector supplying the goods to Kashmir Valley is suffering very badly as the traders have no contact with the buyers from Kashmir Valley resulting payments of crores of rupees held up for the supplies made in the month of July and August 2019.
On this occasion, Deepak Gupta said that traders of Ware House-Nehru Market have been doing business with Kashmir Valley and other districts of Jammu division since 1952. Gupta said that the business of Kashmir and Jammu depends on each other and both of them can’t survive without each other. Whenever there was a crisis in Kashmir, the traders of Jammu fully supported.
Gupta said that with the scrapping of Articles 370 and 35A, the Government imposed restrictions in the districts of Rajouri, Poonch, Doda, Kishtwar and Bhaderwah besides the Kashmir Valley, but despite all difficulties, Jammu traders continues the supply of ration and other food items in these areas so that there is no shortage of any kind in any area.
For the last one month, they have not received any payment, which has put an economic burden on them. Traders of Jammu have been unable to pay the companies. In such a situation, the Government should come forward to help the traders of Jammu, Gupta added.
Atul Khanna, President Kashmir Traders Association, Goutam Malhotra, Deepak Kumar, Chaman Lal Kath, Yashpal Gupta, Ashwani Sharma, Pawan Jit Sharma, Sham Lal Gupta, Sham Langer, Ram Langer, Greesh Bajaj, Rajesh Kumar Bhagotra, Keshav Pal Jain, Ram Swaroop, Om Prakash Mahajan, Subhash Chander and others were also present in the meeting.