Inter-University TT Championship gets underway

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 11: The North Zone Inter-University Table Tennis (M) Tournament 2017-18, organized by the Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu was declared open by Prof Ashok Aima, Vice Chancellor Central University of Jammu at University of Jammu Sports Stadium, here.
Prof Aima in his address advised the youth to actively take part in the sports activities to remain physically and mentally fit as well as socially adjustable.
He also congratulated the University authorities for organizing such a sports event of the National repute.
Prof. R.D Sharma, Vice Chancellor University of Jammu presided over the Opening Ceremony.
Prof Avtar S. Jasrotia, Director Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu presented the welcome address.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Dr Meenakshi Kilam (Registrar), Prof Pankaj Srivastava, Prof Satya pal, Prof Parkash C. Anathal, Prof RK Bamezai, Dr Neeraj Sharma (SS to the VC), Dr Dharminder Magotra (JR Finance), Dr Anupama Vohra, VK Gulati (Chief Coach TT NSNIS Patiala), Prof KA Tarzan, HS Chib, Dr Vinod Bakshi, Mahesh Sharma, Dr Brij Baloria and  Ramesh Magotra.
In the matches played today, CU Mohali beat SMVDU Katra by 3-0; Kurkshetra University defeated Thappar University Patiala by 3-0; Amity University Haryana outplayed SRM University by 3-2; Chitkara University Punjab defeated GJUST Hissar 3-0; MRSPTU Bathinda beat BMN University Rohtak by 3-0; NCU Gurgaon drubbed PEC Chandigarh by 3-2; DCRUST Murthal got the better of Islamic University of Science & Technology, Kashmir 3-1; PTU Jallandhar defeated Bundhalkhand University Jhansi by 3-0; JMI University  New Delhi outplayed PAU Ludhiana by 3-0; Manglam University got walkover against CSKHP Palampur; CSJM  University Kanpur  gets walkover against Jamia Hamdard University Delhi; University of Kashmir got walkover against CCSHAU Hissar; RML  University Avadh Faisabad got walkover against  UTU  Uttrakhand and GNA Phagwara  got walkover against  Sharda University Noida.
The matches were officiated by Deepak, Mahit, Gurvinder, Gurpreet, Monarch Chopra, Sujay, Manisha, Pushp Lata, Meenu Rajesh and Gourav Sharma under the supervision of VK Gulati and Yatish Kumar from the NSNIS Patiala.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here