Gupta expels 4 BJP MLAs

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Apr 27: Prof Chaman Lal Gupta heading the rebel BJP legislators and who claims himself as Leader of BJP Legislative Party today disqualified four Party MLAs including Jugal Kishore Sharma, Leader of the Legislative Party, Ashok Khajuria, Sukhnandan Singh and Sham Choudhary for triggering defection in the Party.
In a signed statement issued here today Prof Gupta said that four MLAs were disqualified by him for engineering defection and the powers were exercised by him under paragraph 6 (1) of the Constitution of J&K read with 8 (b) Rule of Members of the J&K Legislative Assembly Disqualification on grounds of (defection rules 1987) forthwith.
In his letter addressed to the four MLAs, Prof Gupta said that he was elected the Leader of Legislative Party by all 11 MLAs of the BJP and the decision was also communicated to Speaker of the State Assembly in this regard. But he accused the four MLAs of forming a rebel group and claiming Jugal Kishore as leader of BJP Legislative Party.
The letter said the seven MLAs have given in writing to the Speaker that Prof Gupta was the Leader of BJP Legislative Party and, which was also endorsed by the Speaker on the floor of the House, it added.
The letter further said that before taking any action against the rebel group and claiming Jugal Kishore Sharma as the leader of the BJP Legislative Party in presence of an already existing leader elected by majority of the members, the four MLAs were served the Show Cause Notice by Prof Gupta on May 29 last year as to why they may not be removed as member of J&K Legislative Assembly by invoking the relevant provisions of the Constitution of J&K and relevant rules occupying the field.