ESRM stages ‘Khel Khel Mey’

Excelsior Correspondent

Participants of National Theatre Workshop of ESRM posing along with certificates at Jammu on Monday.
Participants of National Theatre Workshop of ESRM posing along with certificates at Jammu on Monday.

JAMMU, July 27: National Theatre Workshop of Ek Sath Rang Mandal (ESRM) concluded today with the staging of late Parveen Kesar’s Hindi play “Khel Khel Mey” in its Monday Theatre series.
The play was presented by ESRM in collaboration with International Volunteer Foundation, Unison Cultural Troupe and BLSKS.
Various theatre experts and prominent artists conducted the classes in this workshop. 20 students including artists from outside State like Alahabad, Jaipur, Kapurthala and Delhi, participated in the workshop. The workshop was followed by scheduled syllabus chalked out by the camp director. Natya Shastra, Dogri folk theatre, Parsee theatre and nukkud form besides modern and realistic theatre was explained in the theory.
Improvisation in acting as different characters was enacted by the students in the workshop. Famous play writers and theatrics like Habib Tanveer, Daya Prakash Sinha, Laxminarayan Lal, Badal Sircar, Vijay Tandulkur and Mohan Rakesh were discussed and briefed to the students.
Besides this, hard work was done on body language, mannerism, speech, languages, spoken word, expressions, voice modulation, pronunciation and yoga for concentration.
Vijay Malla, senior fellowship awardee in theatre and president IPTA (J&K chapter), was camp director while Anuroop Pathania coordinated the workshop.
The play ‘Khel Khel Mey’ is a story based on a mobile theatre group which visits a village to perform a play but the villagers insist them that they will also act in the play. The play starts with a love story of Shiree and Farhhad but the villagers reflect their anger and show their miseries. They come out with reality of village calamities and how they are bound to follow and obey Zamindars’ orders.
Main characters were enacted by Kanta Sharma, Anuroop Pathania, Shallu Kumari, Kum, Karishma, Raryan, Ganesh Singh, Dheeraj Kumar Mahajan, Gourav Choudhary, Aruj Gupta, Raju Mad, Kuldeep Raj, Arun Singh and Vijay Malla.
In the end, certificates of participation in workshop were distributed among the participants.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here