Environment Auth for J&K set up

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, July 11: The Central Government has constituted State Level Environment Impact Assessment Authority for Jammu and Kashmir.
It will be headed by Lal Chand of Gole Gujral, Jammu, as Chairman of the Committee. Nazir Ahmed of Batpora, Srinagar will be member while Director Ecology, Environment and Remote Sensing, Government of Jammu and Kashmir will be the Member-Secretary.
The Chairman and Members of the Authority will hold office for a term of three years.
For the purpose of assisting the Authority, the Central Government in consultations with the J&K Government has constituted the State Level Expert Appraisal Committee, which will be headed by Subash Chander Sharma of Sharma Nagar as the Chairman.
Members of the Committee included MA Tak of Anantnag, Braj Bhushan Sharma of Chhani Himmat, Jammu, Abdul Rashid Makroo of Nowgam, Srinagar, Prof Arvind Jasrotia of Sainik Colony, Jammu, Dr Ghulam Muhammad Dar, Associate Professor IMPA Srinagar, Irfan Yasin of Hyderpora, Srinagar, Prof MA Khan of Srinagar, Prof Falendra Kumar Sudan, Department of Economics, University of Jammu, Prof Anil Raina, Department of Environmental Science, University of Jammu and Prof Shakil Ahmad Romshoo, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Kashmir.
The Scientist, Incharge Remote Sensing and Geographic Information System Lab will be the Secretary.
The Chairman and members of the State Level Expert Appraisal Committee will hold office for a term of three years.