Employees protest against no change in office timing

Employees protesting at Jammu on Tuesday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
Employees protesting at Jammu on Tuesday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 14: Up in arms against no change in office timing, employees of different departments, PSUs and autonomous bodies held a strong protest demonstration, here today, near the Press Club Jammu.
The protest demonstration was organized under the banner of Jammu Kashmir Government Employees Action Forum, headed by senior trade union leaders, Ganesh Khajuria, Babu Hussain Malik, Sushil Sudan, Ravi Singh Bhau and Nazir Ahmad Bhat.
These leaders led rallies of employees from their respective departments and assembled near Press Club Jammu where a massive demonstration was held amidst raising of slogans. The protesting employees were demanding either change in summer timing of the offices in Jammu or declare five-day week.

Click here to Watch Video

Sushil Sudan, president of Medical Employees Federation, warned to intensify the employees’ protest if their demand on change in office timing is not considered by the Government. He also appealed the employees to tighten their belts for intensified struggle.
Ganesh Khajuria exhorted the employees to remain united for the common cause. Employees Action Forum do not want confrontation with the Government but if no action is taken, we will be left with no option other than to adopt agitational path, he said.
The protesting employees were also demanding enhancement of Medical Allowance , announcement of Health Insurance Policy for the employees without further delay and regularization of daily wagers, release of pending salaries and regular payment.
The protest demonstration culminate with the announcement that a delegation of the Forum, led Suresh Sharma has been authorized to meet Governor Satya Pal Malik and Chief Secretary at Srinagar to apprise them of the employees’ demand before deciding further course of action.
Others, who addressed the demonstration, included Hari Singh, Gurmeet Singh, Maheshwar Sharma, Mohd Latif Qureshi, K C Dubney, Umar Jan Batt, Ravi Kumar, Surat Singh Toofani, N S Jamwal, Uttam Chand and Jagdish Sharma.