Election Observers, RO review arrangements for polls

DEO Jammu Ramesh Kumar chairing a meeting on Thursday.
DEO Jammu Ramesh Kumar chairing a meeting on Thursday.

Excelsior Correspondent

Jammu, Mar 28: Election Observers along with Returning Officer 6-Jammu Parliamentary constituency Ramesh Kumar today chaired meeting to duscuss overall arrangements for Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary Constituency.
Election Observers Amit Rathore, Parwin Kumar Toppo, Chandan Chayan Guha, Subey Singh Yadav, Yogesh Kumar, Dr.Tariq Thomas, Sanwar Bharti, Andra Vamsi, Israel Watre Ingti ,SSP Jammu Tejinder Singh along with Nodal Officers and other senior officers of different departments were present in the meeting.
Discussing the district election management plan, Returning Officer stressed that the plan has been prepared as per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India. It includes status of booth level management plan and status of training calendar with details of activities like polling station details, vulnerability mapping of polling stations, movement plan and disaster management plan etc. He also informed that the first round of the general training to polling personnel has been completed.
Discussing further the vulnerability of polling stations, Returning Officer highlighted that out of total 1380 polling stations in Jammu district 12 have been marked vulnerable, 169 sensitive, zero hypersensitive and 1199 as normal polling stations. Enquiring about the preparedness regarding the vulnerable and sensitive polling stations, the observers highlighted the measures to be taken as per the instructions of the Election Commission if India. On this the SSP Jammu pointed out that adequate measures have been taken by the Police Department on these polling stations.
Giving details of the manpower deployment, Returning Officer briefed out that a total of 9500 officials have been deputed with 20 % reserved manpower for poll duty. This includes 253 personnel for expenditure monitoring, 60 for video graphing, 180 as micro observers,11 zonal magistrates, 105 sector magistrate,22 in flying squad,11 in video surveillance team and 33 in static surveillance team.