Election Committee constitutes Presidium to run affairs of High Court Bar Association

Election Committee Chairman R K Kotwal addressing press conference on Tuesday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh
Election Committee Chairman R K Kotwal addressing press conference on Tuesday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 27: Election Committee has constituted Presidium to run the affairs of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court Bar Association Jammu keeping in view the difficulties being faced in conducting polls for electing new team.
This was announced in a press conference by Advocate R K Kotwal, Chairman of the Election Committee which is comprised of Senior Advocate Surinder Kour, Advocates, Kishore Kumar, C M Sharma, Rakesh Chargotra, Vikas Sharma, Daljeet Singh Manhas and Ajay Singh Kotwal.
Click here to watch video
“After the spike in COVID-19 pandemic the outgoing office bearers of the Bar Association Jammu could not commence any sort of election process on account of lockdown with effect from third week of March”, he said, adding “consequently the outgoing team of the Association constituted Election Committee which made various efforts to initiate the election process”.
The Election Committee also tried to convene a General House Meeting in the court premises but the permission was declined by the Registrar Judicial as well as by the Principal District and Sessions Judge, Jammu.
“In these circumstances the Election Committee, after thorough deliberations, decided to constitute the Presidium keeping in view the difficulties faced by the lawyers’ community as a whole”, Advocate Kotwal said, adding “as per the opinion of the majority of the members of the Association the election is not possible unless the restrictions of the physical appearance of the advocates are lifted by the High Court”.
The Presidium is comprised of Senior Advocate and former President Ved Raj Wazir (Chairman), D K Khajuria (former President), P S Dutta (Senior Advocate & former President), D S Saini (former President), Surinder Singh (former President), M K Bhardwaj (Senior Advocate & former President), Sunil Sethi (Senior Advocate & former President), Senior Advocates M A Goni, P N Raina and Advocates R K Kotwal, Radha Sharma, Mandeep Reen and Pawan Manni (Member Secretary).