EC announces re-election in 123 polling stations of UP, Maharashtra, Nagaland

NEW DELHI, May 29: The Election Commission (EC) today announced re-poll in 73 polling stations in Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana, 49 polling stations in Maharashtra’s Bhandara-Gondia and one polling station in Nagaland, after VVPAT machines developed snags during yesterday’s Lok Sabha bypolls.

The re-poll will be held from 7 am to 6 pm tomorrow, official sources said.

The EC has ordered the transfer of the Gondia collector for “dereliction of duty”, a top official of the poll panel said, adding that the new collector has assumed charge.

Notifications for the re-poll have been issued in Lucknow, Kohima and Mumbai.

Over 11 per cent of the 10,300 voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines across 10 states had developed faults and had to be replaced yesterday. (PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here