Dr Sanjeev Jain is new VC of CUJ

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, July 23: Dr Sanjeev Jain has been appointed as new Vice-Chancellor of Central University of Jammu for a term of five years.
Dr Jain is former Vice-Chancellor of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra and presently Director PDPM-India Institute of Information Technology Design and Manufacturing (IIITDM, Jabalpur (MP).
He has replaced Prof Ashok Aima, whose five-year tenure had ended in May 2020. The appointment of new Vice-Chancellor was delayed allegedly because of outbreak of COVID pandemic.
The President of India, in his capacity as the Visitor of Central University of Jammu, has appointed Dr Sanjeev Jain as the Vice-Chancellor CUJ as per Status 2 of the Central Universities Act, 2009 for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office or until he attains the age of seventy years, whichever is earlier.
A resident of Madhya Pradesh, Dr Jain was earlier appointed as Vice-Chancellor of SMVDU on March 15, 2016 for a term of three years and then given an extension of two years. However, he resigned from his post in April 2019 after he was appointed as the Director of the IIITDM Jabalpur.
Meanwhile, the President of India also approved the appointment of Vice Chancellors of 11 more Central Universities.
These newly appointed Vice Chancellors include Tankeshwar Kumar (Central University of Haryana), Prakash Bansal (Central University of Himachal Pradesh), Kshitij Bhusan Das (Central University of Jharkhand), Battu Satyanarayana (Central University of Karnataka), Muthukalingan Krishnan (Central University of Tamil Nadu), Basuthkar J Rao (Central University of Hyderabad), Kameshwar Nath Singh (Central University of South Bihar), Prabha Shankar Shukla (North-Eastern Hill University, Shillong), Alok Kumar Chakrawal (Guru Ghasidas University, Bilaspur), Syed Ainul Hasan ( Maulana Azad National Urdu University) and Lokender Singh (Manipur University).
Union Minister of Education Dharmendra Pradhan had yesterday informed the Rajya Sabha that a total of 22 posts of Vice Chancellors in Central Universities were vacant, out of which appointments to 12 posts have already been finalised by the Visitor.
The remaining 10 universities, which still continue to operate without full time Vice Chancellors, include Delhi University and Jawaharlal Nehru University.