Dogri Sanstha releases Dogri-English calendar

Senior members of civil society releasing a Dogri-English calendar for the year 2021 at Jammu on Thursday.
Senior members of civil society releasing a Dogri-English calendar for the year 2021 at Jammu on Thursday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Feb 4: At a function at Dogri Bhavan in Karan Nagar here today, a Dogri-English calendar for the year 2021, showcasing portraits of stalwart Dogri writers, was released by the senior members of civil society of Jammu, Ashok Angurana and K.B Jandial—both retired IAS officers.
A number of senior Dogri writers and office bearers of Dogri Sanstha were present on the occasion.
Speaking on the occasion, Ashok Angurana said, publication of the calendar is a very good initiative and will be a step towards popularisation of Dogri among masses.
He also said that this is the most befitting way to honour and respect those great writers who made outstanding contribution to Dogri language and literature.
“This will familiarise the younger generation with these stalwarts and will motivate them to carry on the process initiated by the great men of previous generation,” Angurana maintained.
K.B Jandial complimented the Sanstha for this initiative and said, with Dogri being accorded the status of official language of J&K more and more efforts are required to strengthen and popularise this language and its literature and this step of the Sanstha will go a long way in meeting this objective.
He urged upon the younger generation to learn more about their history and culture.
Earlier, Prof. Lalit Magotra, president Dogri Sanstha in introductory remarks said, main aim of bringing out the calendar is to keep memories of the great men, who laid foundation of modern Dogri literature, alive.
He thanked the Sanstha members who contributed financially towards this publication.
These members were Prof Veena Gupta, Gianeshwar Sharma, Inderjeet Kesar, Prof Shashi Pathania, Vijaya Thakur, Dr Chanchal Bhasin, Madan Gopal Padha, Vivek Chohan, Ajit Khajuria, Sunil Sharma, Deepak Kumar, Ashok Khajuria, Raaz Manawari, Rajesh Manhas, Sunil Tagotra and an anonymous donor. Pawan Verma designed and provided technical inputs for the publication.