Distortion of history will not be tolerated: Wazir

SGPB chairman, TS Wazir addressing press conference in Jammu on Thursday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh
SGPB chairman, TS Wazir addressing press conference in Jammu on Thursday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 23: Chairman, State Gurudwara Parbandhak Board (SGPB), T S Wazir has said that distortion of history pertaining to Sikh General, Baba Banda Singh Bahadur by a self styled president of Shri Amar Kashatria Rajput Sabha, Jammu will not be tolerated by the Sikh community.
Addressing a press conference here today, Mr Wazir, who was flanked by DGPC Jammu members said that some posters have been published and circulated in the public in Jammu by Rajput Sabha members led by a self-styled Sabha president, Narayan Singh Jamwal with regard to organizing a function in Jammu on June 9. The name of Sikh General baptized by great Guru Gobind Singh Ji, on posters has been mentioned as `Banda Bairagi’, instead of Baba Banda Singh Bahadur. This act has hurt the sentiments of Sikh community, Singh said.
Wazir further alleged that an attempt has been made by Rajput Sabha members to distort the history and denigrate the Ist Sikh General who was instrumental in establishing first Sikh rule in India. He termed contents of the poster and posts on social media as highly objectionable and amounting to insult Sikh community.
The SGPB chairman said that there was strong resentment in the Sikh community particularly youth. He said the community will not allow such elements to distort history and urged upon Administration not to allow such programmes which create communal tension and disturb peace in the region.
Wazir claimed that Baba Banda Singh Bahadur was baptized (Amrit Dhari) Sikh and became Baba Gurbaksh Singh and later Baba Banda Singh Bahadur after having Amritpaan from 10th Sikh Guru Gobind Singh Ji. This is the history and thereafter, no one has the authority to change the name of great Sikh General, Wazir maintained.
DGPC Jammu general secretary, Fateh Singh, DGPC Members -Ramneek Singh, Raja Singh and Harjinder Singh Raina, Chanchal Singh, Gurdev Singh, Bhai Jagtar Singh, Manjit Singh and Surinder Singh Wazir also accompanied.