DGP declares open Police Martyrs T20 Tournament

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 14: Director General of Police (DGP), Kuldeep Khoda, today inaugurated the 2nd Police Martyrs T20 Cricket Tournament at M A Stadium here.

Speaking on the occasion, the DGP said the objective of conducting the tournament was to channelise the energy of youth to promote sports in the State and enhance police-public relations.

He also declared that a women cricket tri-series between Queen Blues, Queen Reds and Queen Greens will also be held from March 21 at the same venue.

A total of 12 teams drawn from various districts of the State are competing in the tournament being organised by J&K Police under the supervision of IGP Jammu, Dilbagh Singh.

Prominent among others present on the occasion included Additional DGPs Dr S P Vaid and Ram Lubaya, IGPs Dilbagb Singh and Gulzar Singh Slathia, DIGs Farooq Khan, A K Atri, Sulaiman Salaria, Garib Dass and Surinder Gupta, SSPs Parbhat Singh, Vijay Kumar, Bhupinder Singh, Nisar Ahmed Khan, Mujtaba, Joginder Singh, Rupender Kumar Chalotra, Mohammad Amin Khan, Shalender Singh, J S Jowhar, Rajesh Kumar, Ramesh Angral and R K Bhat, Kiran Wattal, Secretary, State Sports Council, Jameel, Sunil Gupta, Atul Sharma, Ravi Singh, Randhir Singh, Naveen Sharma, Dhruv Mahajan, Rakesh Koul and Sameer Khajuria.

Former Ranji player, Rajesh Gill is the organising secretary of the tournament.

In the matches played today, Engineers XI dispatched Aircel XI by 30 runs in a one sided affair.

Batting first, Engineers XI piled up 164 runs in the allotted overs which in reply, Aircel XI could manage 134 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their allotted quota of overs.