DAP protests against land eviction drive by Govt

DAP leaders and workers protesting at Udhampur on Saturday.
DAP leaders and workers protesting at Udhampur on Saturday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 28: Democratic Azad Party today held a protest in Udhampur against the ongoing Government drive for land eviction and stressed that the government shall spare the common people from land eviction.
A number of DAP protesters took part in the peaceful march and raised slogans against the eviction drive. They said that the land under the possession of people was allotted by the then Maharaja Hari Singh and the incumbent Government has no right to evict the same.
“Maharaja allotted the land and asked people to cultivate it. Now the Government is trying to undo this historic scheme benefiting thousands of farmers, which DAP will not allow,” R S Chib, General Secretary DAP.
The protesters reached the District Development Commissioner office and submitted a memorandum urging the chair not to trouble the poor and needy people under the garb of this executive order.
“Majority of the people possessing land have legal authority. But calling them land grabbers amounts to hurting the dignity of respectable citizens,” they said, adding two people have already lost lives ever since the diktat was issued.
The DAP protesters said that no poor should be touched by the Government otherwise, they will be forced to extend their protests across the Union Territory and force authorities to revoke the order. ” It is ironic that the Government is framing policies here to trouble people when it is legally bound to draft the schemes for the welfare of people,” they said.
Among others, who participated in the protest, included G M Saroori, Vice Chairman; Jugal Kishore Sharma, Provincial President; Vinod Mishra, General Secretary; Aslam Goni, Working Committee Member; Salman Nizami, Chief Spokesperson; Gharu Ram, Zonal President; District President Ashwani Khajuria; Brij Mohan Sharma, General Secretary Provincial; Hira Lal Abrol, Secretary, Mehboob Mustafa, Priti Khajuria, Santosh Magotra, Aradhna Andotra, Savita Arora, Farooq Choudhary, Shakeel Singh, Dr Amar Chand Bhagat, Pritam Kotwal, Kuldeep Manhas, Anoop Khajuria, Pawan Kumar, Sheikh Shabir and others.